The Climate Justice Organizing Hub is a support structure designed around the needs of grassroots social movement organizers that respects organizers’ knowledge regarding their own challenges and priorities. Through responsive troubleshooting, skills and strategy sharing, and other capacity-building activities, its mission is to help organizers find their way to building a critical mass of engaged people who are working towards a just transition.

The Hub serves as a movement help line. You ask us your questions, you identify problems that are blocking the group from moving forward, and we help you find resources that will allow you to move forward. Here are some concrete ways that the Hub operates to serve its mission as a movement helpline:

1. Group ‘first aid’ and gap-filling hub

Organizers are at the center of this, guiding us with their challenges, pain points and strategic questions. In response to their expressed needs, resource people and movement-aware specialists are engaged by the Hub to work directly with organizers to try and work through issues that are holding back capacity and movement-building progress. 

2. Organizing knowledge hub

Organizers are at the center of this, guiding us with their challenges, pain points and strategic questions. In response to their expressed needs, a Hub ‘librarian’ is assembling a body of learning on best practices in climate justice /progressive organizing and mobilizing strategy drawing from field experience of campaigners from around the world as well as leading researchers in this space. We will work with organizers to find dynamic and accessible ways of passing on the resources they have asked us to assemble, all depending on the group and community of practice’s needs (podcast format, videoconference in which we summarize the major learnings, translation of a written guide…)

3. Community of practice for organizers/mobilizers and supporting organizations

The Hub has created virtual (and eventually real convening) spaces to bring organizers and those working in movement-generous supporting organizations together to share field experience and work on common challenges. The Hub also engages guest visits from leading organizers in other countries (ex. Sunrise Movement folks) and bring in veteran organizers to speak to the long game of building power from other historical social movements including feminist activism, LGBTQ2S+ rights and Indigenous rights movements. The community of practice is the principal way the Hub delivers on its promise to receive and respond to organizers’ questions and problems.

Funding and governance

Funding for the Hub is entirely provided by Canadian philanthropic foundations. The Hub is formally a project of the Small Change Fund, an Ontario-based charity organization.

The Hub’s team includes Founding Director Tom Liacas, Naomi Goldberg as the Coordinator and Jacqueline Lee-Tam as the Cross-Canadian Outreach Coordinator.

Tasnim Rekik is the Hub’s Organizer Wellness Advisor and Olepika Takpanie Kiguktak is the Hub’s Indigenous Organizing Advisor. Our Vision Team Advisor is Amara Possian.

Our Student and Regional Networks Coordinator is Ashley Torres, our Trainings Coordinator is Louis Ramirez and our Intersectional Programs Coordinator is Lourdenie Jean.

The Hub will soon convene a Movement Council that will include representatives from grassroots climate justice organizations, NGOs that do movement support and also groups that represent intersectional struggles within the broader climate justice frame.

Vision

The world we want - In broad strokes

A world of fair, inclusive and caring societies, where white supremacy and patriarchy are things of the past and where people can live free from colonialism, exploitation and inequality, in all of its forms.

A world where our societies operate in respect of the resource limits of the earth and support the survival of all forms of life. Where no population extracts and consumes an inordinate amount at the expense of others and one where all people, wherever they live, are protected from the effects of climate change and resource depletion.

TOC

To make Climate Justice a priority, we need sweeping changes to current systems — cultural, political and economic — and we need them quickly, because time is running out.

For such big change to happen, social science tells us we need the active, engaged and sustained participation of over one million people across Canada. 

Thankfully, a new generation of grassroots and decentralized organizers is building the networks we will need. This work is draining, however, and these organizers will need help to sustain themselves and the movements they are building.

The Climate Justice Organizing Hub aims to become a stable, nurturing and generative network that supports decentralized organizing and ensures the sustainability of grassroots movements by addressing organizers’ first-order challenges and offering strategic and material resources to support their work.​​​​​​​

Grassroots organizers already have the vision and the energy. With stable and ongoing support, we believe they can get the job done.

Data security

We want to assure you that any information we gather remains confidential and will be stored securely on end-to-end encrypted documents that will not be made public. Your identity, as well as that of the group, will always be kept secured and not shared with anyone without your consent.

We may gather together a series of anonymized trends regarding the needs of grassroots groups to share with funders and other nonprofit organizations that support climate justice but your names or your group names will never be associated with data in any reporting without your consent.

Le Hub de mobilisation pour la justice climatique est une structure de soutien conçue pour répondre aux besoins des organisateurs.trices issu.e.s du terrain et faisant partie des mouvements sociaux au Québec et au Canada.
C’est une structure qui respecte les connaissances des organisateurs.trices face à leurs propres défis et priorités. Grâce au partage de compétences et de services, à l’accompagnement et à d’autres ressources permettant de renforcer les capacités, sa mission est d’aider les organisateurs.trices à se frayer un chemin afin de mobiliser une masse critique de personnes oeuvrant pour une transition juste.

Pour accomplir sa mission, le Hub prend l’approche d’une ligne d’aide. Vous nous posez vos questions, vous identifiez les problèmes qui bloquent l’avancement de vos collectifs, et nous vous aidons à trouver des ressources pour passer à travers. Voici les facettes principales de cette ligne d’aide :

1. Dépannage, aide pratique et résolution de problèmes immédiats

Les organisateurs.trices sont au cœur de cette démarche : iels nous guident pour les aider à résoudre leurs défis, points sensibles et questions stratégiques. En réponse aux besoins exprimés, des personnes-ressources et des spécialistes sensibilisés aux dynamiques des mouvements sociaux seront mobilisés par le Hub afin de travailler directement avec les organisateurs.trices et tenter de résoudre les problèmes qui empêchent le développement de capacités et la progression du mouvement.

2. Hub de connaissances sur la mobilisation

Afin de répondre aux besoins exprimés par les organisateurs.trices, un.e ‘bibliothécaire’ du Hub créera un corpus de connaissances sur les meilleures stratégies progressistes de mobilisation et d’organisation, s’inspirant des expériences des activistes sur le terrain, partout sur la planète, ainsi que des principaux chercheurs dans cet espace. Ensuite, nous trouverons des façons dynamiques et accessibles de présenter l’information aux organisateurs.trices, dépendemment des besoins exprimés par les collectifs faisant partie de la communauté de pratique (format podcast, vidéoconférence pour résumé l’information, traduction d’un guide écrit…)

3. Communauté de pratique pour les organisateurs.trices / mobilisateurs.trices et les organismes de soutien

Le Hub créera des espaces virtuels (et, éventuellement, de lieux physiques rassembleurs) pour réunir les organisateurs.trices et les personnes qui œuvrent au sein des organismes qui soutiennent activement les mouvements sociaux, afin qu’iels partagent leur expérience sur le terrain et travaillent sur les défis communs. La communauté de pratique sera notre façon de recevoir et répondre à vos questions et besoins. Le Hub proposera également à la communauté de pratique des visites d’organisateurs.trices provenant d’organismes phares d’autres pays (par ex. des gens du Sunrise Movement) et invitera des organisateurs.trices vétérans afin qu’ils présentent les leçons apprises en luttant au sein des mouvements sociaux historiques, notamment l’activisme féministe, les droits des communautés LGBTQ, les mouvements antiracistes tel que Black Lives Matter et les mouvements des peuples autochtones tel que Land Back.

Financement et gouvernance

La totalité du financement du Hub provient de fondations philanthropiques québécoises et canadiennes. Le Hub est officiellement un projet du Small Change Fund, un organisme de charité basé en Ontario.

Tom Liacas est le directeur exécutif du Hub, Naomi Bénéteau Goldberg est coordonnatrice et Tasnim Rekik est conseillère en bien-être des militant.e.s . L’équipe de vision du Hub est notamment composée d’Amara Possian et de Rim Mohsen.

L'équipe du HUB

Le Hub rassemblera prochainement un groupe consultatif qui comprendra des représentants d’organismes pour la justice climatique sur le terrain, d’OBNL qui soutiennent les mouvements sociaux et de groupes qui représentent des luttes intersectionnelles dans le cadre le plus vaste de la justice climatique.

Vision

Le monde que nous souhaitons - les grandes lignes

Un monde fait de sociétés équitables, inclusives et bienveillantes; dans lequel la suprématie blanche et le patriarcat sont des reliques du passé; dans lequel les humains peuvent vivre à l’abri du colonialisme, de l’exploitation et des inégalités sous toutes leurs formes.

Un monde dans lequel nos sociétés évoluent dans le respect des limites des ressources de la Terre et soutiennent la survie de toutes les formes de vie. Un monde dans lequel aucune population n’extrait de ressources ni ne consomme de manière démesurée au dépens des autres populations; un monde dans lequel tous les humains, peu importe où ils vivent, sont protégés des effets des changements climatiques et de l’épuisement des ressources.

Théorie du changement

Pour que la justice climatique devienne une priorité de notre société, les changements aux systèmes actuels — culturels, politiques et économiques — devront être considérables, et ils devront se faire rapidement, puisque le temps presse.

Pour que des changements de cette ampleur se produisent, la science sociale nous dit que la participation active, engagée et soutenue d’à peu près trois cent mille personnes au Québec et plus d’un million de personnes au Canada, est essentielle.

Heureusement, une nouvelle génération d’organisateurs.trices au sein d’initiatives populaires œuvre à créer les réseaux décentralisés dont nous avons besoin. Le travail est cependant éreintant et ces organisateurs.trices et les mouvements qu’ils bâtissent auront besoin d’être soutenu.e.s..

Le Hub de mobilisation pour la justice climatique souhaite devenir la charpente qui soutient l’organisation décentralisée et garantir la durabilité des mouvements terrain en faisant face aux défis des organisateurs.trices et en offrant des ressources stratégiques et matérielles en soutien à leur travail.

Les organisateurs.trices de la justice climatique détiennent déjà la vision et l’énergie nécessaire à la mobilisation –grâce à un soutien stable et continu, nous croyons qu’iels pourront réussir.

Confidentialité de vos données

Nous voulons vous assurer que toutes les informations que le Hub recueille restent confidentielles et seront stockées en toute sécurité sur des documents encryptés qui ne seront pas rendus publics. Votre identité, ainsi que celle du groupe, sera toujours gardée en sécurité et ne sera partagée avec personne sans votre consentement.

Il se pourrait que nous rassemblons des statistiques anonymisées concernant les besoins des groupes émergents, pour les partager avec des bailleurs de fonds et d’autres organisations à but non lucratif qui soutiennent la justice climatique. Vos noms et les noms de vos groupes ne seront jamais associés aux données sans votre consentement.